powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-18 - 10:48 a.m.

Watch me work....

I spent something like six hours here yesterday, although part of that was eating lunch with PS and organizing dinner plans and doing some miscellaneous paperwork fu.

Then we made the pilgrimage to Home Depot to pick up PS's Xmas present (a vise...) and to ponder kitchen faucets and cabinet hardware, paint chips and similar exciting things (we're starting to think again on the topic of interior decor and the like).

At 8 we were supposed to meet assorted folks for dinner, and it was, while pleasant company-wise, a nightmare of inefficient service and food prep. Sigh. Nothing like paying ghastly amounts for only adequate food that takes two hours to arrive. We ordered appetizers around 8:30, which arrived around 9-9:15. Dinners, which were ordered around 8:45 - 9, did not arrive until something like 10:15 - 10:30....

And then I had to wait to talk to the manager as we were leaving!! We were offered complementary additional starters as a comp for waiting, but they never arrived.... And then they tried to overcharge me for red wine that was served cold (not room temp - cold!) Grrr.

It was lovely to see everyone and hang out, but I think we'll do it elsewhere from now on.

The net result was we got home way later than planned, in the icky icy-snow-crap, and I had to get up in time for a 9am appt with my mortgage guy (we're refinancing! Woohoo!)

Now I'm at work again, in the freezing office. Hopefully once I'm done here I can do some more fun stuff!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!