powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-19 - 11:21 a.m.

Ah yes, the post-Pennsic wannas....

Every year I make a huge long list of the stuff I'll do differently next year (bring more X, bring less Y, fix Z, buy another V, etc.) Some years I can even find that list again by the following year. Recently I found a note pad containing that list from c. 1987 or thereabouts. How sad is that?

So, this year (as I do some years), I started the list in camp during the war, when all of the ideas were fresh in my mind ("I'm wearing the same dress for the third straight day. Hm. Note to self to make more short-sleeved linen kirtles...") Within a relatively short time, I'd filled one page of a spiral A4 notebook, and was cranking away on page two. Then PS and I did a similar list in the car on the way home - its a good way to stay awake on long, warm car trips (although it failed in this case - Steve petered out and went to sleep, so I had to keep myself awake while driving....)

So, having made all these lists, I'm thinking that *now* is the time to start working on them, so that next summer isn't a frantic frenzy of Pennsic prep (and then maybe I'll get the brewing done, which I didn't get done this year....)

Like BdB, I didn't buy much this year, and the only LMS I bought were replacement mounts for a belt (to the tune of $3.75). I did, however, collect a handful of business cards for merchants who deal by mail, so I can purchase those things I need over the winter, and not feel pressed to get them in a hurry next year. At least that's my theory - we'll see how well it works.

And in truth, I'm slowly approaching the point of not really needing anything that can be bought. Okay, yes, I could buy garb, but most of it isn't sized for me. Otherwise, it's little stuff like buttons (which PS can also make), or occasional bits of pottery or something, but really there's not much more I need. Goodness knows I don't need fabric or anything like that. Now *want* - that's another matter entirely. My current "wants" are for better and more authentic-looking armour/fighting kit, but all of that requires me being a smaller human first....

In the meantime, there's no one but me upstairs answering the phones, so I should get back to the mines....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!