powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-08 - 4:05 a.m. BST

Bother bother bother. Why does one's best entry always get eaten by a grue?

Anyhow, I guess it gives me a chance to edit...

Good news first, I will get to see my Best Girl and many of my friends tomorrow about which I'm pleased. Even better, I heard from the INS this week and it sounds like Steve's visa will be processed much sooner than we'd thought! Hooray!

Sad news today though - the beautiful old Wye Oak has come down in the recent storms. I was so sad and startled I actually started crying in the car on the way home. I've had some lovely picnics out by that old tree.

Some more good news though - I was taken to a splendid all-you-can-eat-for-$9 sushi buffet for lunch. It was very tasty and economical and they had much better buffet sushi than the normal california roll selection. Yum. Fish bits....

And this gave me a chance to hang out with one of my favorite new co-workers, a woman who in many scary ways is incredibly like me. The first week of work, when I saw her putting Space Cadet and Lloyd Alexander's The Arkadians back on her office bookshelf I knew it was a good thing. Since then we've become Weight Watcher 'buddies' and are going to start walking when I get back from England. It's a little unnerving - we're both a little concerned that with offices on the same corridor we're never going to get any work done!

However that hasn't happened yet. Work is going well and I�m finally getting in to do the meat of the work. I say finally � I�ve only been there four weeks, and in my first two I did something like $2500 in billable hours, which might be a record. My only current problem is that they�ve assigned a new (to the company) programmer to my team, and while he�s a nice guy, he�s kinda slow (molasses in January comes to mind) so I�ve asked my boss for a more experienced resource (we�re all resources on this bus) since there�s a lot of customisation to do and a go-live date of 1 October. We'll see what happens.

I even stayed an hour late today to do some 'housekeeping'. Somehow we'd ended up with a slew of files of the sort called useful things like 'Questions for Client' and 'Decisions to be made by Client' or 'Tasks for Go-Live' and 'Project Milestones'. Now there's *one* open questions/issues document, and all of the tasks and milestones have been logged in the project calendar and open task list, and the main project files are much tidier.

After work I came home to visit my guest felines. It's good to have black cats in the house again, except I'll have to figure out some system for the basement door - I spent a lot of time shutting myself in the basement and then scouting for invaders, then going upstairs again and trying to count noses. I didn't want to lock them in the basement for the weekend by accident! To keep them company I watched one of my favorite cheesy movies - The Man In the Iron Mask. Despite Leo Brat-Boy di Caprio, it is utterly redeemed by the four older musketeers. Sigh....

Then I happily discovered a cheap and open late (well, 10pm but that's late for them) pho shop, so I had a yummy bowl of limey salty noo-dul on my way up to the Kuijts. Now I'm trying to decide if I can get a new dress made for the event next weekend in Scotland....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!