powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-26 - 1:20 p.m.

Once again, I'm having bad diary entry karma. Oh well. At least I'm awake now. Thanks to the joys of Salt Lake City, my brain is operating in a completely useless (for London) time zone.

This past weekend was a Board meeting, which is why my brain is still off touring SLC. It's bad enough to travel for an entire day to a place 7 time-zones different, but then when you get there you keep weird hours so your system gets *completely* screwed up.

The flight over wasn't bad - I had an entertaining seat mate (we talked Italian motorcycles and he explained why airplanes don't fall out of the sky - don't laugh, it was really quite entertaining!) This (mostly) made up for the cab being late, dropping me at the wrong terminal and me arriving at check-in for an international flight as they're beginning boarding! Those who went to Ireland last year will recall my retention-factor on such things! We also didn't get private TV's, and I couldn't see watching Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (the dubbed version) on the overhead screens....

Had to transfer through Atlanta (ugh), it was hot and steamy. Got to SLC on time, got to the hotel, caught up with Meg (Francesca), hung out and slowly acquired Board folks and officers over the evening. Had to crash as my brain thought it was 6 am, and that was the beginning of the end.

The Friday meeting was pretty good - only one major rant (from Bearkiller), some decent discussions, a really good lunch, evil Renee desserts, and heavenly Mexican food for dinner (since you *cannot* get it in London!) Oops, hope the maids found my leftovers in the hotel room fridge!

But again, much staying up late. Got the word from Mel O that the suit against us was dismissed with prejudice (whoo-hoo!), had to pick a new board member, etc. Much late night hoo-hah. Up early for the public meeting. Got to meet TRM Artemisia (with whom I'd corresponded) and various other folks of interest. Meeting, meeting, meeting.

The post-meeting revel was at Tryggvi and Agnese's so after a desperate attempt to get another chore done whilst in the country (and failing, I might add! Grrr!) we all went over to T&A's. Tryggvi has grown his hair longish and looks like a shorter, slimmer, slightly more impish version of David Crosby - it's eerie. The Bug looks much the same although her hair is longer. Their kids are cute, they have a nice house, they seem to be doing well enough.

Morning comes early, must fly home (via Boston?!) but for once the fairy godmother department is looking out for me, and I have to walk only three gates to change flights, and the transatlantic flight is a) showing a movie I want to see (Finding Forrester, I recommend it!) and b) not full, so I get three seats to myself to sprawl in. Most excellent.

Got home, got luggage, made it through immigration & customs, got cab home, crashed in a heap and didn't get up til mid-afternoon. Slack, but....

This weekend is the frantic sewing-for-Pennsic weekend - ack! Must get a million things done before the War!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!