powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-09 - 9:49 a.m.

Well, things in our lives are settling down a little bit - had a nice dinner with CPM yesterday and picked up our veggies from the Best Babe (although we got home later than we'd planned thanks to a long dinnertable conversation on peerages and a delayed start due to train fu).

My grandmother has finally been diagnosed with Alzheimer's, which means she's now eligible for adult day care (at something like $40 a day) but it also means that the local Family Services folks are cranky about the circumstances under which she is living. Sigh. My family is full of fruit loops of various sorts - hopefully we can get this sorted out in some fashion. I think it's mostly cleanliness they're worried about so hopefully that can be dealt with in fairly short order.

The hard part is that she's not supposed to be alone in the house at all, which makes for some potentially interesting logistics, and may, after some time, lead to moving her out of her home of the last nearly-fifty years and into a nursing facility. Right now she's a guest of the state for 20 days while my aunt gets the house ready for her return. And frankly, Hazebrouck's recent sagas of nursing home "care" leave me less-than-thrilled about this option. My other grandmother has just had to be moved as well, because the previous facility wasn't really up to the medical care she needed (which, in turn, led to amputation of her leg above the knee due to a circulatory blockage and a wound that wouldn't heal....) I don't really want to deal with this, but I'm afraid we'll have to - my aunt is losing it, my uncle is more trifling than usual, and my dad is just incredibly stressed by the whole thing. Sigh. Dysfunction Junction, that's us.

In other news, it looks like I have to go to a conference for work in August. Yep, that time in August.... So I'll probably miss my favorite couple of days of Pennsic, which is a bummer, but such is life. I'll miss the field battle, which is my favorite battle, and I'll probably miss some other stuff, but I'll at least manage to be there for *some* of it, do some shopping, hang out, etc. We'll see.

But I should get back to the mines....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!