powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-26 - 12:40 p.m.

So here I am at the office. I was emailing with the SPC this morning and she was wondering why I came in; I'm kinda wondering that myself. The roads were pretty horrible, although they look like they're getting a little better right now. I just want to be safely home before they freeze. I'm such a wuss about driving in snow & ice.

Part of it may be the necessity to turn out of our driveway, come to a full stop on our unplowed street, and then turn uphill across traffic from a dead stop to get onto the semi-main road. It gives me the willies.

The investiture Saturday was both better and worse than I expected. It's been a while since I went to an event so I had to kinda figure out what to bring, etc. I got there a little bit late, but in time for the first court, which was really the reason I went.

The hall was awfully expensive ($7 for day trip, doesn't include lunch or anything), and it was *very* cold. Even with warm socks and insoles in my shoes, my feet were cold pretty quickly, with that bone-deep achy cold of standing on concrete having the warmth sucked out of you.

It was also loud - sounds carry in that sort of barn, but not specific sounds - we couldn't hear most of court, but there was an overall din from children playing, people talking, etc.

I had some nice visits with folks. I ate good-for-me snacks. I had my usual 'that's it, I'm going home' encounter with someone who decided to make a point of my inadvertent rudeness by correcting me on it. It's enough to make me cry, sometimes - this time I just got mad and TonTon had to talk me back from the ledge.

Got to visit Ilsa in her vigil (although there was some "fu" about that too). Watched some fighting. Hemmed a tunic. Played with the adorable Becca and hung out with friends I haven't seen in too long.

After court and Ilsa's elevation (which has been better described elsewhere, and which had the usual effect on me of being simultaneously inspiring and depressing) we punted on dinner plans and I came home to my sweetie and made a curry. Sweetie has diagnosed the problem in my car as being thermostatically related, so he's got a new thermostat to put in this week, so maybe by Thursday when I have to drive to Fairfax, I'll have reliable and prompt heat in the car....

Sunday was lazy. We were going to go to the movies, but our friend was sick, so we were complete slugs. Midafternoon PS went out to the scrapyard to get parts for the Volvo, which he then puttered with. I made food (dijon pork chops) and sorted assorted paperwork and stuff. Whee.

And now it's snowy and disgusting out....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!