powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-07 - 12:43 p.m.

I always find myself writing these weekend recaps without much useful to say.

Friday we puttered around the house, met the neighbors (who are very nice) and discussed the savaging of the berry bush (their daughter - they'll replace it). Then we went over to Shane & Gina's (via Home Depot), and hung out all afternoon/evening with them, eating Mama Gina's home cooking (okay, grillin') and generally being bums. Theo & Roland came over for a bit, which was fun (although I need to figure out how not to be snippy when I perceive Theo as sanctimonious -sorry babe!) and I got two pieces of handsewing done (one was repairing a *Very* long hem....)

Saturday we cruised up to see T3 with the Gainers and MelP, had a blast (excellent flick, even if I "meep"ed loudly a couple of times....)

Then the hubby and I shared one of those domestic afternoons involving a three-hour trek through the new IKEA, paint chips, floor plans, fabric swatches, test-sitting on sofas, drooling on big island kitchens and the like. The new IKEA is pretty splendid although they're still getting organized (they didn't have flyers for all the things we wanted, so they had to print them out from the computer, and many things were out of stock, thanks to opening-day sales....)

We finally broke free (for only $30!!) and went over to eat chili and wings and discuss further plans. Our entire evening, in fact, was occupied with measuring tapes and graph paper, and little paper cutouts designed to resemble our furniture (real or prospective). There is much plotting and scheming involving repainting, laminate flooring, the hideous fireplace tiles, curtains, kitchen-refurbishment, and similar happy homeowner tasks. We'll see if it comes to fruition. *Grin* A lot depends on the prospects for employment for Steve - we need his income to finance these projects, although his employment eats away at our time to do the projects - it's a catch-22.

Yesterday saw us up fairly promptly and over to MENG and Havorc's storage facility to root through their worldly goods. We found a few things we wanted, then got caught up in the packing, unpacking, repacking, piling into 'to be sorted' boxes, and the like. It was very warm....

Suppertime found us wearing CPM's clean t-shirts and drinking iced tea and snorfling food at Michael's with the Bar Monkey and his lovely lady and the packing crew. Too much iced tea later, we retired home, had much-needed showers, played a little Diablo and retired to bed, where, thanks to the tea (in my house, iced tea is decaf - somehow I forgot it isn't in the outside world!), I didn't sleep much, and when I did I had unsettling dreams.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!