powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-11 - 4:01 p.m.

It's been weird. Being here for the anniversary, not where I was when it all went down (as it were).

Last night, as I drove up 395 to 66, past the Pentagon, the nice men in uniforms were out in force. Floodlights, Hummers, state police and not very many cars. (Okay, it was 11:25 at night, but still....)

Today, I got to listen to the radio as Gen did, and heard the names read of two friends of my father. It was eerie. I got into the client site and many people were sitting in the darkened conference room watching the live news feed on the huge projection screen. People are wearing red, white and blue, and a bunch seem more somber than usual (or forcedly gay, which is almost worse).

I was intrigued by Gen's question about how we're different. I'm certainly travelling as much by plane as I did beforehand. I can't give blood, and couldn't last year (the hazards of living abroad). I think I've been more charitable this year, but much of that has been matters of principle (Big Brothers/Big Sisters got a big chunk when they came out with a statement that gay/lesbian/etc. are allowed to be BB/BS - hooray!) I'm trying to appreciate my friends and family more, although some of that is related to my brother's death rather than September 11th. (I still have problems with the phrase 9/11 - in my brain, that's November the 9th, my wedding day-to-be!)

I'm not sure I'm any more patriotic although I'm certainly more aware of flags and the like.

Am I different? Yes. Is it at all related to the 11th? Not sure.

Heard a weirdness on the radio yesterday about the 9-1-1 dispatchers who were getting ready for the ceremony to honor various of them on '9-1-1 day' when the planes came in.

The other great radio piece from last night was on As It Happens, one of the hostesses doing a piece on Martha Stewart, in a Martha Stewart voice/inflection. Very funny.

Yesterday I looked at houses again, and may have found one I like.

We've also determined that Steve's immigration may not be entirely hosed. But we won't know until closer to 27 Sept. Phooey and double phooey.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!