powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-30 - 5:23 p.m.

Weird shit in Keilyn-land.

First, I agree with Celynen, it's not that someone is English or Spanish or whatever - I think that's a cop. It's just about who you are. I say this 'cause some of my English friends are the squealiest hug-everyone type, so I doubt it's based on national origin. Upbringing, that I'll buy. Living with my uncle makes me realize just how much upbringing affects who you are. Not that it's insurmountable, just that it's really primal. I think about this stuff a lot, in case you're wondering.

Second, they sacked people today at work. Now this may not seem surprising, in this age of downsizing and layoffs and technology slumps, but I just started here. They've hired two people since I joined, and now they're letting people go. This, needless to say, makes me more than a tad nervous. I've got bills to pay, I was looking at buying a house, I'm importing a fiance, we have travel plans to make. It's all pretty scary, and very unexpected given the sales pitch I was given in my interviews. And, frankly, having already been virtually unemployed for eleven months in 2001-2002, my cushion is pretty deflated right now. Phooey. Not a good 'tude going into the weekend.

And Astrith. Lovely, patient Astrith. What can one say? I understand they will be processing her coronet & banner in the Crown processional this weekend (she was to be fought for). I'm glad I'm not there, I'd just weep.

Wow, this is a pretty depressing and cranky entry for a Friday before a holiday weekend.

Lessee. Gaming, maybe a movie, some housecleaning, maybe some sewing. I'll be in and out all weekend if anyone else has stayed in town.

Peace all.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!