powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-26 - 1:29 p.m.

Yeah, I'm still slack. But with the new job, I can't surf at work, and that means doing it from home after work, and I just haven't had the energy.

So, a brief update. Work (2 weeks so far) is excellent (although I need to talk to them about the benefits or lack thereof). My commute is sweet - 18 minutes give or take a minute, door to door.

This week I've been sick, so work was a bit of a trial. I'm finally starting to get better but it's been a week of carrying a tissue box with me everywhere I go, and taking entirely too many unpleasant medications. But my nose is no longer bright red (only sort of reddish) and I have dreadful post-nasal drip, but I only have to honk every 10-15 minutes as opposed to every two or three. My ears are still wonky but hopefully a couple more nights of good sleep and that will clear up too. So I've been more slack than usual about stuff like the house, although I am starting to catch up on the movies that came out last year that I missed while in London.

My new lodgings are coming together (props to the Debster who has come over two Saturdays now to labor!) We've gotten the basement boxes mostly organized so I can find stuff (I'm not unpacking most of my books or fabric, or a lot of the household goods), and we've gotten most of the requires-two-people furniture assembly jobs out of the way. I still need to bribe someone tall to come help me with the outside light, but that can wait a while.

So the house is looking less and less like a disaster area every day. I'm actually using my desk for desk things! Woohoo! Maybe I can get back to writing and stuff sometime soon.

So, work, house. Is there much else? Tedious chores like hounding the movers about a poor packing job, etc. Trying to track down miscellaneous mail that isn't being sent to the new address yet. The paperwork for Steve's visa is at the INS - no idea when we'll hear on it, but I hope it's soon! The car is making ominous squeaking noises, so I need to drop it in the shop again while I'm house-sitting for the Kuijts and can mooch their car.

It's been great to see lots of my friends. I'm still trying to lose weight. I can't plan my wedding until after I hear back from the INS, which is frustrating. I want to start exercising but there are no nets at the local basketball court! Ack!

In three weeks I'm heading back across the pond for a two week holiday (two events and a week at my sweetie's house). Should be fun.

Peace all. Off to do some sewing or something.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!