powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-09 - 11:43 p.m.

I sure wish I'd been at Coronation this weekend. I hope everyone had a great time (especially QPM!) and that everyone (besides Siobhan - thanks babe!) writes long descriptive passages so I can close my eyes and pretend I was there.

But missing the event aside, I had a pretty splendid weekend. It sorta started Thursday (weekends do that when you're not working!) with a really excellent fighting practice at Peregrine's (pell work - ooh, my aching arms!), a fine cheap curry dinner and then a viewing of A Knight's Tale. Oh, the humanity! What a dreadfully horrible and yet funny movie! I can't actually recommend that anyone spend money to see this turnip, but if you find it at the cheap theatres, by all means.... Destined to become an SCA cult classic if nothing else.

Friday I ran errands, bought embroidery silks, looked at fabrics, and puttered. My sweetie came over and we went into town to meet a bunch of friends for my Esteemed Apprentice's birthday and my half-birthday (regular readers will recall that my birthday *sucked* this year so I was granted a half-birthday celebration in compensation). Fourteen of us gathered for much consumption of Chinese food in Chinatown, then Haagen Dasz for dessert. It was terribly festive and we had a good time.

Saturday we slept in, slugged around the house, missed fighting practice but went over to Dan's in time for a marathon gaming session. We were six people, with something like 10 board games to choose from. We started with a game of Cults Across America. After much down and dirty dealing, double-crossing (well, at least intentional screwing-over), machinations and what not, John & I tied for winning, which was quite a triumph for me as my *real* plan had been neatly foiled by my so-called friends....

After dinner, we undertook a four-handed game (with Pete refereeing and Nina sitting out) of Monsters Ravage America (those who see a theme are absolutely correct!), which ended with Dan's Konk beating my Frothgar (?). Ah, well - it was a glorious game and accomplished the necessary mayhem and madness for the evening.

Steve & I decided to stop for a kebab on the way home, as it was now something past one and dinner had been a while ago. We do, and while we are sitting in the car having a cider and eating, we see a fox. Now, I think this is pretty cool - we're actually in the city, not a mile or two from the Thames, and here's a little fox bitch, cute as can be, trotting around the sidewalk looking for snacks. Eventually she comes over, figures out there's something in this car, and actually climbs up on the bonnet to take a look. So there's fox slobber on Steve's windscreen and we spent a delightful hour playing with the fox through the windscreen and feeding her the end of my kebab. I only wish I'd had a camera.

This morning we awoke (late, again) and headed off to the Museum of London where we were meeting Nina & Tina. Took a look through the Roman & Medieval stuff, looked through the bookshop (of course), had tea in the cafe, then all piled back in the car, and drove back down here for a birthday dinner out for Tina at my favorite local curry house. It was fine, now everyone has gone home and it's time to once again face a week with no work, but lots of social obligations. Such fun.

Hope all you readers are well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!