powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-04 - 6:53 a.m.

*Why does this thing always crap out right at the end of my entries??*

So, this weekend was the Lammas event in beautiful Hatfield. Okay, so all I saw of Hatfield was the mall with the McDonald's and many roundabouts, but the site was nice, and the feast (ahem) was awesome. Major kudos to my retentively-organized Esteemed Apprentice, who made even more lists than I usually do, and who did most of the recipe selection. It was nummy, people seemed to like it and they seemed willing to eat it even if they couldn't identify it (almond milk & pine nut pudding, for example). The pork and wild boar roasts with two sauces were my favorite - gotta get her sauce recipe.

The rest of the event was focussed around classes and a small Laurels Prize Tourney. I stuck my nose through a couple of classes and saw lots of people walking around with little half-done class projects and big smiles, so I guess the classes went well! There was also an informal fighting practice and some fighting training going on - I snuck out of the kitchen and got some pointers from Jay at one point, which was really good.

After the feast, about 90% of the attendees were staying on-site (of the 50-60 attendees - whoohoo!) so there was much singing, drinking, storytelling, snogging, eating of leftover food-bits, etc. I participated in much of this and got *entirely* too little sleep, which led to all sorts of adventures in the morning (we had to be off-site by 10 am! Ugh!)

Many good things though. Arranged a cool three-way trade of skills wherein I make a gambeson for the armourer, who makes armour for the new fighter who is also a costumer and makes garb for me. Sweet! One of my friends here is getting a Laurel (got put on vigil Saturday) and another got the Kingdom arts award, the Panache. I seem to be actually in a relationship with my sweetie (hooray). In fact, life would be just fine if only I had a job, and I'm working on that....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!