powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-06 - 10:33 a.m.

Sometimes the simplest things make a big difference. Two weeks ago, PS & I splurged on some home improvement stuff, and over the last week or so he's been installing it. Both our toilets have improved flushing mechanisms now, so they flush all the way (in one case) and don't run forever (in the other). Last week he put in the spiffy new dining room light fixture (a sort of faux chandelier in brushed nickle finish, with alabaster-esque globes - very splendid!), then this weekend it was the new faucet in the kitchen sink. Yesterday night it was the most glorious of all, the new fluorescent fixture in the kitchen. It really lights the place up (and makes it really obvious that the countertops Must Go!) and he did a great job of making sure it was centered correctly. It's a little weird cause the light from there is more white and the light from the chandelier is a little more golden but it works fine, and the kitchen is no longer a dim cave. Very cool.

And my lilac bush, which we bought and then didn't plant immediately due to frost and disorganization, has new buds on it. Hooray! A couple of our berry bushes are going wild, and things in my garden are showing signs of life. I need to do some more gardening tomorrow night or Sunday.

On the irritating front, I seem to have lost a favorite notebook recently - possibly on the train or something. Grrr.

Hugs to Chuck. It seems so shallow to be excited about a new light fixture when others are having rough times.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!