powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-14 - 9:15 a.m.

Well, this weekend will be an experiment; I'm mentoring a new cook in feast preparation. The times before that I've done this, I've taken the lead, and just sorta brought the other person along with me (and it has seemed to work pretty well, judging by the outcomes). This time she's taking the lead, and I'm providing guidance and support ~ we'll see how it goes! (Y'all come now, y'hear?!)

In other news, Jammin' Java is a pretty cool idea. I guess they've been open for a couple of years, but this weekend was the first time I managed to get my sorry rear out there for a show.

As a storefront, it's unassuming. It's in a strip mall in Vienna, and the front third (?) is a coffee bar with light fare (chili, salads, sandwiches, etc.) - they don't have a full kitchen but the stuff I saw going out looked and smelled good. At the back of the service area there's a guy with beers & wines for the audience - relatively reasonably priced, for concert-venue drinks. ($2-$5 for bottled beers)

The rear 2/3-ish of the place is a stage with some little tables in front, and then theatre-style seating. One assumes that when there aren't shows, the theater-style chairs go away for more space. There's some lounge area too, up on a little riser to one side.

The decor is faux industrial, but it looks okay, the chairs are relatively comfortable and there didn't seem to be any obstructed views. If I have one complaint about the venue, it's that the sound man seemed to have a pretty heavy hand on the controls - I had to get up and walk around during the opening act due to ear pain, and it was almost impossible to converse before the sets started, thanks to the "background music".

But otherwise, it's a neat little venue, relatively inexpensive (tix were $15 plus a $2 "service charge", which is better than ticketmaster's current $7 "convenience fee") and intimate. The concert started at 8 (on time) with an interesting opening act and the headliner came on around 8:50 and played for a good hour and a half. They seem to have a wide variety of gigs from comedy to rock to folk, which is nice to see. They even have a studio next door for local artists to record in. Pretty keen, eh? Check it out!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!