powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-09 - 9:48 a.m.

You learn (and relearn) interesting things while working downtown. But there should also be rules (I think I'm channelling FoxPhotog!)

1. If you're walking and talking on a cell phone, please be aware of those around you. It's just like driving, folks (although without the big metal box) - erratic changes of pace and direction are guaranteed to make you unpopular with your fellow pedestrians.

2. The little red hand means stop, the little white walking man means go. Obviously, if there are no cars coming, one can walk on the "stop" signal, but fercrissake at least *look* before beginning your meander across the street. Half the gridlock I observe every day is due to inconsiderate pedestrians crossing against the light.

Side note - I work on a traffic circle, which is the direct cause of the other half of the gridlock. You have to cross approximately six intersections to walk the 100 yards or so from my office to the Metro. It behooves everyone to have some awareness of the traffic flow and light cycles.

3. Amateurs should not be allowed on the Metro during rush hour. This doesn't include all tourists - I'm sure folks like Dan who are London Tube-savvy can manage it - but the folks who yell at each other over their farecards and can't figure out how to work either the farecard machines or the ticket gates should just stay home til after rush hour - it's not like the museums are open til 10 anyway! Have a nice breakfast, read the paper, frolic in some fashion and *then* get on the Metro.

Corollary to rule # 3. If you aren't in a hurry to catch the train, please make way for those of us who are.

I guess it all comes down to a level of other-awareness (or self-awareness of self-as-part-of-group) to manage the intricacies of walking to the Metro and riding the train. I realize maybe in this me-generation that's not popular but it would sure be nice if people would give it a try.

And don't get me started on the woman who didn't make any indication about getting out of her seat til we were stopped at the station and then gave me a dirty look and a smart remark when I didn't get out of her way fast enough. It's been a while since I called a complete stranger a bitch out loud, but she won the prize....

That said, back to the mines.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!