powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-10 - 1:52 p.m.

(I started an entry earlier but had to stop to do training, so I guess I�ll start one in Word and move it over later)

Two more days of this job, and that�s about one and a half days too long. It�s wonderful to work for such a professional company. The owner hasn�t even spoken to me about my departure � as near as I can figure he�s either sulking (which would be semi-typical) or can�t contain his glee (which I expect, as he and I didn�t see eye to eye on much). Some of my colleagues have expressed dismay that I�m leaving, and regret that my departure is partly because the company �management� is incompetent, but that�s about it. (Well, and they�re panicked about who is going to do all the work I�ve been doing, and how they�re going to manage without the resident expert on our new system, but that, as they say, is not my problem!!) I�m a little disappointed that I won�t even get something like a farewell luncheon (so far I�ve *never* gotten something like that so I�m not sure why I should expect it, but�.)

Last weekend was okay. We had a nice dinner out one night, which is good (quality time with the PS is a Good Thing �) and I got a bunch done around the house. Taking the cat to the vet was an adventure that really bears retelling in person � picture me bracing the cat carrier between my feet and trying to fold the cat�s front legs under her and stuff her in the carrier without losing any more skin than I had to. Much hilarity ensued. She also managed to evacuate all bodily orifices all over the vet and the Xray tech in her indignation (but she�s fine � just pulled a ligament in her knee).

Steve�s head is healing nicely, and he�s still working lots of OT (again, good for the pocketbook!) We didn�t get much more done in the way of car repairs � right now we�re waiting on the title to the Prizm so we can get it registered and on the road legally. This would be good, as I�m pretty tired of commuting with PS � he�s sweet and all, but it involves leaving the house before 6am (and for those keeping track, my work starts at 8:30 and I don�t get paid for overtime�.)

So, things continue apace. We're looking forward to a weekend at home again this weekend - maybe some sewing, definitely some housework, should really file the taxes (they've been done for a month or so), things like that to get ready for the new job. If the weather turns out nice, perhaps I'll indulge in some gardening. PS has work on Saturday and a friend of ours coming over on Sunday to get a second battery put in her Vanagon.

Congrats to those recognized at KASF, and I'm glad folks had fun. And thanks to everyone for the congrats on the new job. I'm very excited about it and *so* ready to be out of here!!!

Later....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!