powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-10 - 12:16 p.m.

I'm avoiding thinking about Christmas this year, so maybe I'll do something on Christmas traditions later.

Work is currently on an upswing in that I've had more than two good days in a row, which is something bordering on a record of late. But there's still time for things to go pear-shaped (aren't I optimistic?)

There are apparently not going to be Christmas bonuses this year, and there's been no report of increases either (despite the fact that our boss recommended them to the company owners.)

Work is, shall we say, in flux.

Steve's new job is going well, although he managed to burn a hole is his shirt pocket on his first day (???)

We had a very good if lazy weekend, largely spent enjoying cinematic extravaganzae of various sorts. We went up to the Temple of Karnak on Saturday and saw Timeline and The Last Samurai. Timeline is entertaining if not particularly medieval - if you pretend they went to a fantasy world, it's a lot easier to take. That, and the plot seemed terribly predictable (not usually a Crichton issue), so I dunno. I haven't read the book yet, so maybe it was in the adaptation.

Last Samurai is excellent, and the ending is appropriate. A good representation of the period, from my recollection (I made a study of it, but some years ago). Only a couple of bad CGI moments.

Then we came home via two expensive food-shopping trips, and I made Thai shrimp curry (mmm!) and we watched a rented copy of Catch Me If You Can - cute and entertaining.

Sunday was more lounging, some house stuff. I made a pork roast and we watched Babe (Steve's choice!) and then the rented copy of The Jackal (very good!) Very lazy.

This week so far has been work and work-recovery; not much productivity although I'm hoping to change that tonight. (I was hoping to change that last night too, but failed.... The leftover-turkey curry was good though!)

This coming weekend is the beginning of the Christmas visits - we're driving up to Philadelphia to see my family. It should be entertaining, although most of the events seem to focus around food. *grin*

Back to the mines here...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!