powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-04 - 5:12 p.m.

Wow. My recent entries have all been pretty crabby. Seasonal affective disorder? Exhaustion? (Those who add "it's just your personality" aren't far off either....)

I guess work is really grinding me down. I alternate between working my ass off and being completely despondent and frustrated which makes me easily distracted (and not very efficient at getting work done).

Then there was NaNoWriMo , which kept me really busy when I wasn't working. I didn't finish, but I did well and surprised myself with the quality as well as quantity. I've promised myself to put that bit away for a while, as I have another writing project scratching at the door for attention (critiques I got back right before November!) but I'll get back to it.

Plus the whole holidays thing. I'm just not a very festive person sometimes. This year we're travelling all the time and I guess I'm a bit frazzled by the concept. At least we have a couple of weekends at home before then.

Steve also starts his new job (!!!!) on Monday, as a mechanical technician working on satellite fabrication or something. Very cool, a bit more money and *benefits*! Calloo callay! I'm sure I'll miss his ability to just take a day off when something needs doing around the house (since between us we get fewer vacation days than a normal UK person gets...) and I'm going to have to shoulder more household chores (which is okay, but I'm lazy and have been getting spoiled rotten by his willingness to do more since he wasn't working full-time) but it is a Good Thing (tm) for him to have full-time employment.

So, things are going well, it's just busy and frustrating sometimes, and nerve-wracking (I keep being sure I'm going to be told to come in and clean out my desk), so I'm kind of on edge.

So, I'm not being a hermit. I'm just hiding from everyone and everything. *grin*

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!