powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-13 - 4:36 p.m.

I had a good time at Crusades, but I confess that had little to do with the event itself and more to do with the company I keep.

We had a cabin at the back end of nowhere, which meant long walks to anything but there were some entertaining parties in our neck of the woods, and decent neighbors. Our cabinfolk were good, save for a little drama and the Snorer. Friday night involved some wine and a long winding walk around camp, running into old and new friends, and causing vast amounts of merriment.

Saturday involved mold and allergies (ugh) and deciding at the last minute to haul my lazy, lardy butt onto the field. I schlepped over with my armour only to be faced with the check-in line from hell. I have no idea what was going on with what, I understand there was much political fu and wa (from which my life is blissfully free at present), but the result for me was standing in line chatting to Kimmie & Angus and various folks for something like 25 minutes to get checked in to fight. Then I got inspected quickly and had time to grab yummy breakfast up at the Lochmere table before waiting around for the fighting to start.

I have to say, the Lochmere "camp" reminded me of the old days. We didn't get an ideal location (those were reserved for the Royal pavilion, etc.) but we had a vague view of the field (especially if you scootched out of the pavilion). We had banners, we had tables groaning with food and drink, we had chairs and pleasant company. It rocked.

I'm not sure when the battle finally started, but I'm with foxphotog - no 30-min resurrection battle to start things off!!

Similarly, I agree with Colin-g - the mojo wasn't there. (I, in fact, used that exact phrase to my husband in the car on the way home, mostly in reference to my own pitiful performance but also in general. I caught Miguel at the St.Aiden party explaining that normally the Atlantian army can actually fight....)

So, my mojo was on holiday somewhere and I was completely ineffectual. I died at least three times to crossbowmen before I made it back up to the line from the res point, or when I was standing around watching daisies grow. My armour was riding strangely (new body armour and leg harness not quite right), so I didn't have my usual full-extension range, which meant I was just taking up space. Not good for a spearman. I tagged a couple of folks, but mostly not hard enough, then got someone and while we were discussing it, I got pegged by another crossbow and retired from the field. (She did come over immediately to discuss - no hard feelings there, just a tad bit of frustration).

I also got slammed twice by folks who had broken through. The guys in yellow tape were *not* being good about distinguishing which of them were dead (and returning to their res point) and which were alive and kickin'. One of these gave me a shot to the side of the hip that basically put me out for the day (well, that and the fact that there was going to be an hour and a half or something before the next battle while they did the Champions fights).

By midafternoon, the area in the middle of the bruise was still bloodless, but now I'm sporting a red and blue and purple mass the size of my hand (palm & fingers). I'm bummed - it means no practice tonight (and I've been trying to get organized for Monday practice for a couple of weeks!) but I can't wear my leg harness - the belt sits right on the bruise....

[So, I'm off to the gym tonight instead, and then home to work on stuff for my writing workshop tomorrow!]

I spent the rest of the afternoon in pleasant conversation with various folks. I cruised the Nia/Nikulai/Anne end of the universe and listened to plotting for next year; I hung with some lucetting types; I chatted much with various friends, and partook of various nibbles. (I was even fairly faithful to Atkins this weekend!) We even watched a bunch of the fighting from our breezy hilltop vantagepoint. It did *not* look fun.

Thanks to everyone who helped take down and load our pavilion while Steve was off getting prepped for Court - you're the best!

Saturday night was some amount of confusion but came out okay. Everyone from Lochmere bailed before court (or during - they were all gone by the time I got back from changing!), so Prince Charming & I ate dinner by ourselves, then he went to bed and I went off to find my royalty-dining spouse. I mooched some more supper from the lovely Iron Bog folks, then we cruised the parties. The ball looked fun but I was too tired (and footsore) to dance, so we stopped through the St. Aiden festivities. I heard a funny Nia story, talked with DameAnne a bit, chatted to an old friend from the East for a while, and generally hung out. Eventually we headed back to the cabin & sleep.

Sunday was speedy packout and we were home by 1:15 (even after dropping off PC), so we had a nap and some house chores (and I made glorious chicken soup with the carcasses from the weekend) before heading off to birthday dinner with the Bean.

Today we're back to the grind, but with the joyful news that Steve has at least a some-time job. It probably won't be full-time, but it'll pay enough to cover his health insurance and a bit more, and that's a good first step!!

I guess I should get out of here and off to the gym!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!