powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-12 - 9:10 a.m.

Balynar hit on one of the two things I was going to write about today - it's been a busy week in that regard! Sigh.

So, I did my first Pilates class at the gym last night. Pilates are designed for lovely slender women like TheBookGirl and Love2Fly. They are not designed for the more roly-poly figure of Yours Truly. "Okay, so balance on your sits-bones, with your knees bent, gripping your ankles in your hands, then roll backwards til your shoulders are on the mat, then roll back up." In a controlled manner. Go ahead, you try it. Or lay flat on your back with your hands over your head and your legs out straight, then, keeping your arms straight and your heels on the floor, roll up (using your abs) so you're touching your toes. Yeah, right.

I'm pretty flexible for a built-for-comfort-not-for-speed type, and I'm relatively active, but man! this was a lot of work.

But I made it through the whole hour of class, and only had to cheat on two exercises (and missed part of one due to a bathroom break), and she only had to help me on one (the aforementioned lie-flat one). And this strikes me as the ideal exercise for fighting, as it's designed for building long, lean muscles, and for working from your "powerhouse" (abs), so we'll see how it goes. It beats the heck out of really boring cardio machines, and I'm determined to get to where I can do the whole class without dying. Next week we're doing the resister-balls!

So, that's my life. Classes at the gym, trying to get ready for Knight of the Heart, getting ready for our yard sale tomorrow (pray for good weather!) and playing KoC.... Oh, and work....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!