powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-28 - 3:14 p.m.

Lucia asks:

1) What was it that first drew you to the SCA? By this I mean, what was the thing that you read, saw, heard about the SCA that made you want to get involved?

I actually got dragged to fighting practices before I knew anything about the SCA - my D&D buddies were peripherally involved. So I don't think there was something that specifically sparked a 'hey, let's go see about this', or at least not right away.

2) What was the first step you took as a newcomer to get involved in the SCA?

I started to go to fighting/dance practices, got to know some people near me so I could get rides to things (events, practices, meetings). I made my first chemise, dress and cloak at my mom's house - they were moderately hideous but they got me through.

3) Who was the most influential person in your decision to join the SCA?

Other than my D&D guys? I had some friends at University of PA who were instrumental in my ability to get around and go to things, and some local folks (Lise Dyckman in particular) who were influential in the direction my SCA participation took.

I'm not sure this answers the questions. And it was all so long ago...

Busy weekend of projects and Pennsic prep and some miscellaneous house-stuff. Sorted stuff, cleaned up stuff around the house, hung at the Gainers, sewed some, pre-packed for Pennsic, worked on taxes and stuff.

I seem to be coming down with a sinus ailment whose main symptom is the sensation of having an icepick shoved behind my left eye. Ow.

Back to work, must eat something and then go home and sleep....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!