powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-08 - 11:57 a.m.

Questions from the Kimmie! (thanks!)

1. What have been some of the more interesting situations/problems you have had to deal with while on the BOD? Is any one kingdom �noisier� or more problematic than the rest?

Several kingdoms have been noisy at different times, depending on what sort of crisis they're having. During my term there has been significant "noise" from Trimaris, An Tir, Ansteorra, the East and the West, and some minor noise from most of the other kingdoms. The situations we deal with are *always* interesting, because the SCA is such a unique organization. Some of the big ones have been the ones you'd expect - the NonMember Surcharge, Aveloc, etc. Any issue involving sitting royalty or recently-seated royalty is always particularly, um, special.

2. What places in England would you recommend I absolutely see if I was visiting for 3 weeks? Any restaurants in particular you recommend eating at?

If you'd never been before, and you're trying to get a real flavour of England, I would recommend several days in London. This gives the visitor a chance to adjust to the currency, accents, wrong-side-of-road, terminology, etc. In particular, take the bus tour of the city, visit the Tower of London and several of the museums such as the V&A, Museum of London, British Museum, Wallace Collection - depending on interests. Stay in a B&B, and eat meals in local restaurants/pubs. For a change, try the Polish place near the V&A (or the Russian one near Battersea), or Wagamama in Harvey Nichols or Covent Garden. Wander Covent Garden or Spitalfields Market, and try to get out into a neighborhood or two.

Then leave London and do some/all of the following:

* Welsh marcher castles (if you plan well, you can probably hit three or four in one day - Chepstow, Caerphilly, etc.)

* Hay-on-Wye (used book capital of UK)

* Stonehenge and/or Avebury and Kennet Long Barrow (prehistoric goodness! and a great pub in Avebury)

* Salisbury (visit the Cathedral especially)

* Winchester (cathedrals, good castle ruins)

* Canterbury (cathedral, tomb of the Black Prince, good historic old town area)

Then I'd pick one or two (not more, really, unless you've got time to kill travelling) of the following:

* Edinburgh

* York

* Chester

* Cambridge

* Portsmouth

Each has things to see, but it depends a lot on the interests of the traveller (specific time periods, military, naval specifically, etc.) and how much time you're willing to spend in transit.

Restaurants? The Agra Balti in Basingstoke has terrific Indian food, as does Sree Krishna in Tooting (or almost anyplace in south London). The Red House in Free Folk (or someplace like that) has terrific if non-traditional food. There's a place we ate at in Edinburgh that was *phenomenal* but no one remembers the name....It was down a little stair, just down the Mile from Deacon Brodie's, and it did Scottish game and stuff. A lot depends on tastes and budget.

3. You are a fighter. What kind of difficulties have you encountered as a female fighter? What advice do you have for new women fighters?

I've had almost no difficulties that were specifically related to being a female fighter (other than some anatomical ones involving armour and getting in the way of myself, but those would probably apply similar to anyone of an extreme body build - weight, height or lack thereof, etc.)

I have had the great good fortune to have been surrounded by trainers and sword-fellows who were enthusiastic about my desire to fight, and who didn't really treat me differently (other than taking into account physical differences, strength, frustration-level, competitiveness, etc).

If I've encountered difficulties, they've been largely of my own making - getting discouraged, being drawn in too many directions, letting myself get out of shape and out of practice.

I think (and this is purely my perception, although it's held over fifteen years now), that female fighters are expected to continue to be more active in other aspects of the SCA (holding offices, running events, making garb, etc.) than male fighters of the same time-in-grade. I think, especially early in their careers, that it benefits female fighters to be really focused on fighting, almost to the exclusion of all else. Some manage it, some don't. I don't know if it's an age issue (most female fighters I know started later than their counterparts, self excluded), and there are certainly life issues that seem to slow women down more than men.

As far as advice, just stick to it! Build the habit of going to practice every week (or every howeveroften it happens). Do *something* every day even if it's just some pell work or 'playing with your sword' (a new exercise I'm just learning) or some cardio training for endurance and wind.

Be a sponge - learn everything you can and use it if it works. If you want to get good, focus. If you want to just fight occasionally, be in the unit at Pennsic, etc. that's okay too but not as fulfilling long-term. Don't be afraid to suck in the meantime!

Keep a fighting journal. Pay attention to how you're feeling, what you're doing differently, things people tell you, and write them all down for further reflection.

Get armour that fits and that you can move in comfortably - the times I've had this, it has made all the difference in the world. Look splendid if you can - it may intimidate them into thinking you're better than you are!

Hm. Sounds like I should do a whole web page on K's advice for fighting.... Maybe I should even *follow* some of it!!

4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live? Why?

Wow. Hard question. There are a few *places* that are special to me - my step-grandmother's in Oregon, for example, but anywhere I'd want to live would be because of the people. Right now, I'm in alt (you wouldn't guess it always, but I am!) because I'm back in the bosom of my 'family by choice' - the local and not-so-local SCA community around here will always be part of my family. I would love to live nearer my blood-kin, (which is hard as they're spread all over the place!), and I would love to live nearer my in-laws too. I miss living near my friends in London, and I'm toying with living in Edinburgh to be near one of my trainers and heart-friends. So, it's all about the people.

5. What is one of the most special moments you have ever had in the SCA?

Wow. Um. Er. Do I have to pick one?

A selection:

The midnight pas at Warbands (any of the times I've been, although this year especially, when Michael dedicated a fight to me).

The knightings of any of a handful of my friends, especially the ones where I've been involved as a sponsor or something.

Sir Gerhardt's knighting at Drachenwald Ten-Year celebration, and watching him being carried out of court on the shoulders of his brother knights.

Standing vigil guard at Volodya's knighting at Pennsic long ago, on the causeway in the old woods, and then processing him into Great Court to a Russian hymn.

Being knocked to the ground by Sir Christian when Duke Galmr won his first Crown (and Christian's knighting too, now that I think of it!)

Quiet moments in people's vigils. Late night storytelling around a fire at Pennsic. Quiet walks through Brady Saunders or King's Mountain. Nearly becoming Princess of Drachenwald and then withdrawing. Being Chamberlain to a very new Princess and seeing her shine and blossom into a real Queen. Any of a variety of long-ago parties and revels and tournies that all meld into a long string of snapshots. Winning my first bout in a tourney. Oh so many....

Thanks a lot Kimmie - you've really inspired me to think and reflect a lot.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!