powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-25 - 5:28 p.m.

Wow, a multiple-entry day.

I've been catching up slowly, and holding on to DameAnne's questions for last - I guess partly to see what other people were saying, and partly so I had time to think about answers. Some of them are still troubling me.

** What happened on your happiest day?

I'm not sure - I'm not sure when my happiest day was. It may be the day that Steve & I decided to have a go at this relationship thing. But I'm not sure (how sad is that?)

** How many people do you genuinely love?

Lots. Lots and lots. This is one where other people's answers surprised me, and made me a little sad. I guess I'm as free with my love as I am with my sadness and my criticism and everything else. Maybe it comes of being raised in communes and in extended families (including many by blood or marriage, and many more by choice). Maybe it comes from having had lonely times. Maybe I've been influenced by reading too much Heinlein. But certainly the numbers are in the hundreds. And yes, I mean real look-deep-in-their-eyes love, where their happiness is vital to your own. And yes, dear readers, many of you are on that list!

** Do you like the same people?

Most of them! *grin*

** Who has influenced you most? Was it by a positive or negative example?

Wow. Hard to say. I think I'm influenced by nearly everyone I know, in both good and bad ways. Someone will do or say something that inspires me, or causes me to want to not ever be like that. But most? Hard to say.

**If you were told you could never do something again...which thing would hurt the most to lose?

Curling up in my beloved's arms. He calms me when I'm angry, comforts me when I hurt, and brings me joy no matter what.

** What makes you laugh?

Almost anything. MASH, old musicals, the Marx Brothers, friends, drinking with friends, small babies, accidental photographs.

** What brings you peace?

Not enough. But I'm working on that! Really? Being with my darling. Sitting in the garden. Kayaking - moving smoothly over quiet water. Being with some of the people I love.

** What talents do you bring to this world?

I wish I knew. Making people laugh, sometimes, and making people think, sometimes.

** If you could live in financial comfort anywhere....where would it be?

Alternating between a country house in the UK, our home in Maryland and my grandmother's house in Oregon.

** If it were your "last week" what would you do? With whom?

Aieee. Visit places I would miss, visit people I would miss, spend time with as many friends as possible all in one place. Apologize to those I've wronged and try to clear as much bad blood as I could manage.

** If you could give up an honor and give it to someone else, who would it be?

I would give up my Sigillium Coronae, the award that means the most to me right now, to my beloved, who works so hard and selflessly at all the things that make other people's lives easier.

** When is the last time you "made someone's day?" What did you do?

I am not sure I have *ever* made someone's day. Something to strive for, perhaps.

** When was the last time you said...

"I was wrong?"

Today? Over work things and Board things. At least once, probably more.

"I love you?"

At lunch, which my beloved brought me. Or maybe over the phone since then.

"Thank you?"

To my colleagues who covered for me while I was gone. To Steve for lunch. To people who make my life easier.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!