powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-14 - 11:10 a.m.

How can it already be Monday? It seems like it was Friday only moments ago.

This weekend didn't exactly go as planned, but that said, it wasn't bad. Just different than I'd thought. But since I'm trying to learn to be more flexible, this is okay.

Friday night I had a date with my husband, whom I haven't seen as much recently as I'd like. He's making new friends and getting involved in projects and stuff, which is great, but it means I have to learn to share. (He went to Barony meeting, Fighting Practice and Shop day last week, and then I don't remember what on Thursday, so this was the first evening we were home together all week....)

Now, Date Night in our house is, well, non-traditional. In this case, it consisted of order pizza, drinking beer/cider and playing computer games together til 2 am. Still, it was fun.

Saturday was originally going to be sewing with the Babe, but she had family commitments, and Steve hadn't found anyone to help him with tentology (I'm not sure how hard he looked), so we did tentology together. We hauled out most of our SCA kit, set up both pavilions in the back yard, inspected for damaged canvas, missing ropes, etc. and got them all bundled up with the right stakes & ropes with the right pavilions, etc. It was incredibly useful, and good to get stuff organized, even if it took all day. And we got to spend a nice day outdoors, which wasn't bad either.

Saturday evening we went to a surreal housewarming party, where I ran into people from nearly every facet of my life, and many of whom I've known for 20 years. It was weird. We hung out til after midnight talking about computers, the SCA, computer games, Connie Willis stories, weight loss, kids, house projects, etc. It was kind of refreshing to not be gossiping about the SCA.

Sunday we intended to be all kinds of useful, but the truth is we were so sore from the outdoor adventures Saturday that we sorta mooched around the house most of the morning. I played some new-crack (Alpha Centauri - Civilization 2.5 in Space), and some old-crack (Civ III), and cleaned my desk, and sweetie made me breakfast three times. Then he headed over to Shop Day at Moustache's, but I didn't really have a shop-project, so I stayed home and did housework (laundry, dishes, cleaned bathrooms, cleaned kitchen, paid bills, changed sheets, emptied trash, etc.) I felt terribly virtuous for getting stuff done, although it was a bummer to miss Toots' Tandoori Chicken, and to miss the company at the Shop.

So, it was a busy, but good, weekend. I didn't get as much done as I'd hoped (but when do I ever?!) and I got some much needed down time. Now I can face the week (including two consecutive days at client sites!) with relative equanimity....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!