powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-01 - 8:06 a.m.

First, on the news front, the INS cashed our check. This means at least that they've accepted the first bunch of paperwork, which is better than the alternative. It also means that when we get the receipt (should be this week sometime) then Steve can head up to Baltimore and get his Advance Parole paperwork, which will allow him back in the country in June. Good to have. So, progress is slowly being made.

Lessee, the weekend. Celebrated with my honey on Friday (that's when we found out about said check-cashing). Planned to get up early on Saturday and failed. PS attempted to smoke us out of the house by putting the cast iron skillet (my good skillet.... The one I'd just finally gotten reseasoned after some well-meaning person scrubbed it really clean at Pennsic....) on the stove to warm up for making bacon, and leaving the plastic spatula in it. Mmm - burning plastic. Filled the house with reeking smoke, set off the smoke alarm (which doesn't have an off switch or a removable battery, so we had to put one of those shower-caps-for-food over it to stop it from whining), caused us to have to open every window and door. Good thing it was nice Saturday. Got the pell assembled except for carpet, did some pell work on a dead tree (and managed thereby to give myself poison ivy on my forehead....), visited with my dad, had a blast at Bob's 50.2. (And yes, the AoD looks amazing in a velveteen catsuit and thigh-high boots and eyeliner. Although there were several other astonishing and splendid outfits as well - Greaser Roland and the Pink Lady, Hippie Dreadbaron and Beat Thjora among others)

Sunday we hung out and watched it snow (SNOW?! ARGH!) then dad went off to get my stepmother and Steve & I puttered a bit, then I went over to Hun-e-be & BlueDuke's and we watched food shows, had marvelous spaghetti (the BlueDuke makes a *mean* spaghetti sauce!!), inspected the wall behind their stove, played bid whist, and generally schmoozed.

Then last night we picked up my grandmother at the airport (always festive, especially in times of heightened security). For those of you who've been following this diary for a while, you'll recall that my grandmother is the Esteemed Matriarch, and, at 92, my oldest living relative who is still possessed of most of her marbles. She's a hoot, but she is starting to slide a little, so having her as a houseguest is interesting. Especially since she only has one hearing aid with her (sigh...) and she can't really hear/understand Steve. And yes, I'm at work and they're at home alone together! :-) Still, all they need to do is hit Target because she forgot her toothbrush, and he needs to make sure she eats....

Maybe I'll tell more stories about my grandmother tomorrow....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!