powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-24 - 9:40 a.m.

Well, it was a good, if disjointed weekend.

Friday was the awesome dinner party for the blueduke & hun-e-be, out at the Pope Room (very hysterical - bust of the pope on a lazy susan, many pope pictures, latex glove hanging from chandelier from prior bachelorette party, do-it-yourself stigmata maker, bathroom art). Wynn came down and Henry came out, and we all had a lovely dinner amid much craziness. But we didn't get home til almost 2am, and I'm not as young as I was.

Which meant, in this case, that while I felt terrible about it, I just couldn't get my butt over to Pontoonville for Michael's dolphining. Sorry, PC - I hope it was wonderful and surprising for you. It's just my year to miss important awards being given to my friends. Sorry, family - I felt like a bum, but I was OD'd on people after the chaos of Friday, and I'm still getting over the damn bronchitis and stuff. And I'm lame, face it.

The real issue was that it wasn't an event I was at all interested in except for those few minutes of court. I just couldn't see hauling out garb, driving across town in the pouring (and I mean pouring) rain and paying four bucks just to see court. I really needed some quality down time without people (except my beloved). So we hung out at home, played some computer games, pottered around the house, rented Red Planet (which was better than I'd remembered) and Holiday Inn (which was wonderful, again), got Quizno's subs (their current 'special' is Chicken Carbonara - chicken strips, bacon, mozzarella, bacony alfredo sauce, etc - very yummy!) and generally were bums.

Sunday we managed to get up and after a few false starts (sorting coinage, getting out projects, etc.) we schlepped over to Moustache's for shop day. PS & Michael Limner worked on coins and casting fu, the Moustache & his sweetie worked on plans for flags for Pennsic, I puttered on shoes and tablet weaving, and for dinner the splendid E'beth made us naan, curried peas & carrots and buttered chicken. Then Moustache went off to play hockey and we watched Farscape and Tracker (taped from Friday) before heading home.

It was, um, interested getting home. The wind and cold had frozen most of the lovely snowmelt into thin sheets of black ice on the sidewalks, road surfaces, etc. It was treacherous just walking to the car, and then we must have seen a dozen small accidents or people spun out into snowbanks on the roadside. Scary. There was a large and unpleasant-looking accident on 197 just before our turn-off - we had to wait there for about 20 minutes while they cleared the ambulances, fire trucks, salt truck and enough of the debris to let one lane of traffic through.

But we got home, and now I'm back at another exciting week of work! We're planning to get back to the gym this week (after two weeks of coughing like consumptives), and PS even dug out his armour this weekend with an eye towards getting back to fighting. How exciting!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!