powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-13 - 4:08 p.m.

It's been a long week. Well, not bad, just busy and chaotic and full of things.

Let's see. My uncle apparently will be staying til the end of the summer or until I kick him out. This is actually okay, as it's my dad's brother (and that side of the family is particularly cool), and he's being useful and helpful. Thursday when I had to work until 7:30, he had dinner ready when I got home and it was yummy (pasta with chicken, mushrooms, fresh tomatoes, feta, kalamata olives and basil). Sorry we didn't make it up to Gen & Alan's, but it was 8 when I got home from work.... Bleah.

Work is going well, although it's very busy and a bit chaotic. Hopefully things will settle a little in the next week or so. We spent part of this week in what was supposed to be a project managers training or forum or something and ended up being part bitch session and part really tedious stuff from one of the most patronizing people I've ever had the misfortune to work with. She's also a complete moron. For example, if you were given a work order today for ABC company, and the work order number was ABC.071302, do you think you might be able to figure out the numbering system? She's been with the company three years and thought there was some mystical numbering scheme. Um, hello?! Earth to MR, come in MR!! Sigh. She issued everyone little portfolio briefcase things (like I need another black leather thing to hang on my arm), and spent some unusual length of time explaining to us how they can be used. "And your business cards can go here. And the pen and highlighter go here. And mine came with a calculator here, but we got yours on sale, so they don't have one, but you might want to put one there, if you are on a client site, need to do a calculation and don't have your laptop handy...." Oy and also Vey

I have a Board meeting next weekend - how exciting.

We're now waiting for Steve's passport renewal to come through as they strongly suggest that they won't issue you a visa if your passport will expire within six months, and his was right on the edge of that deadline.

I screwed up, wrote the wrong date in my datebook/memory as to when the stupid emissions have to be inspected (after the form got held up because the stupid Post Office screwed up my forwarding order!!) so it's an extra $15 down the tubes. What a pain.

Had a great time with the Debster on Wednesday, although I'm not sure I'll eat at the Ramshead as often anymore - the food was only okay, and they've changed the menu, removing many of the things I liked. The concert (Grey Eye Glances) was pretty good too - I love their music, although the sound mix was once again crappy. Bleah. What is it, everyone thinks that in order to be a 'real band' you have to have a honking great big bass drum that drowns out your vocalist? Sigh....

But all that ranting aside, I'm in a decent mood and have been having an okay week. I even found a copy of Phillip the Flower Eating Phoenix online for $10, so it should be here soon! Hooray!

Time to go be constructive (although last night I helped T with her VB homework, so that was useful too). Peace all.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!