powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-01-16 - 12:19 a.m.

Alan Rickman is Da Bomb. Completely and totally.

Okay, don't freak Faithful Reader, but I'm posting twice in one day 'cause I went to the Thee-a-taw (that's theatre, said with upper class through-your-nose accent - sorry AoD!) tonight with my flatmates and some friends, and it was magnificent.

First of all, there's Mr. Rickman. He's sexy in some incomprehensible way. A reviewer had a great comment that's now completely left my brain about being somehow seductive and vaguely menacing. Anyhow, I'd listen to the man read (okay, growl) the phone book.

Second, he was in a role that was made for him - Elyot Chase.

Okay, who knows what play it was now, without looking?

Yep, that's right, that monument of early twentieth-century cynical-romantic-farce, Noel Coward's Private Lives. I love Coward, and I do think this is his best work (probably). And the play has a soft spot in my heart as it was one of the first productions I worked on in the King William Players, the theatre group at St. John's College (with, not coincidentally, my flatmate Michael!)

Rickman was excellent, the rest of the cast were too, and it was all in all a spectacular evening. I still have lines going through my head, and I keep chuckling to myself (much to my flatmates' amusement). "Je regrette mais Madame Duvallon a parti cette apres-midi pour Madagascar" and the one about cutting off someone's head with a meat axe. Mwahahaha.

So, if you're in London before they start filming Harry Potter II in earnest, catch Rickman in Private Lives at the Albery. You'll be better for it.

Peace.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!