powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-11-05 - 1:25 a.m.

Whew, the weeks pass so fast sometimes.

Let's see. I'm reading a really cool book by Bernard Cornwell called Gallows Thief (recommend him - good stuff!), and I read the second Bridget Jones book earlier in the week. And I'm re-reading Mists of Avalon. And I read Voyage of the Dawn Treader on the train the other day. And, of course, I had to re-read Night in the Lonesome October on Halloween.

Tuesday was fighting practice, I helped train someone new, which was a lot of fun, if hard on my knees. Visited with sweetie, who has managed to get himself a new job!!! Hooray for sweetie! It's not great or anything, but it's an income and that helps.

It's Guy Fawkes here, which means it's fireworks day. Make that fireworks month. It's kinda of interesting - like living in a war zone. Halloween is a complete non-starter though. Kristen went and got candy and we had no kidlets. I played Call of Cthulhu in honor of the day (since I can't burn incense in the house....)

Thursday I went to a beer festival with Dan and got lost on the tube (Earls Court station confuses the bejeezus out of me, and I was kinda sleepy and not at my best....) It was fun (the festival, not the getting lost and being late....)

Friday was Girls Night Out, which was diminished because Tanya had a migraine and couldn't come, but Meesh, Tina & I had a great time, eating *excellent* food at a little French bistro, drinking champagne, then switching to another bistro for drinks and a cheese plate. Introduced Meesh to Sambuca. Heh, heh, heh....

Hm. Was hungover Saturday. Maybe Sambuca wasn't such a good idea after all. Eventually rousted incredibly slack self and pottered up to Andrea's house in Norf London for an afternoon of Space 1889: Temple of the Beastmen (an *excellent* board game, if slightly flawed in the rulebook department). Dan came home afterwards with me, we had dinner, sat up too late, he crashed, we slept late, puttered around the house, went to the market, eventually made breakfast (mushroom & beef stroganoff at 4 pm - works for breakfast for me!) Dan left, I made dinner for the roomies, have spent the evening doing various organizational chores and whatnot. Have to go to Maidenhead tomorrow and also get my hair trimmed.

The one flaw in the weekend is that, as you might have noticed, I didn't get to see my sweetie. In fact, thanks to schedules and parties and whatnot, I may not get quality time with him (ie when he's sober & awake & not busy) until the end of the month! Wah!!

I'm also discovering that I'm running out of money, which is a bad thing. I need to work harder on finding a job and also on economizing. Bleah.

Holiday travel is going to be beastly expensive, and some of it is Delta Airlines' stupid fault for not knowing their own booking system. Grrr. But I really *should* go home and see Grandmother and the family, most of whom I've not seen since March. Sigh. I'm bracing myself for bad family juju of various sorts.

Oh and for those who were wondering, they've decided not to fill The Perfect Job For Beth until after the first of the year. Sigh.

Ooh, before I forget - welcome to the world, Juniper Jet Losito Humphrey! She was born on Halloween (which, if I recall correctly, is also her papa's birthday?!) and all are doing well. Welcome JJ!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!