powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-10-30 - 1:49 p.m.

It's been a long weekend, for some reason. Jet lag, I suspect, and the usual weariness that follows international travel.

Friday I came up here to work (contracting job) and then sweetie & I went down to Signy's for the evening (getting there very late and possibly getting tagged for speeding on the way - sigh....) Spent the evening visiting with Signy & Leda, drinking various things (2 bottles of wine, some ginger wine, some whisky and some port, as I recall). Got up late and went the long way down to Pete's for gaming (for which we were obscenely late, partly 'cause I didn't get the message about when we were starting til, you guessed it, after I got home....)

But the fury of the northmen over with, we had a lovely game of D&D with Pete running a bizarre quest scenario for the three of us. We had a nice curry dinner and finished up very late (as expected) but Steve got us all home in one piece.

Sunday we slept exceedingly late, lounged around and then (greater love hath no man!) Steve helped me clean my room up. To those of you living in spacious luxury in the US, this may sound ridiculous, but for those of you who know what a hoarder of things I am, and who know how small rooms in Britain are, you'll begin to understand. My room is a smidge wider than my double bed is long, and perhaps half again as long. There is *no* open wall space, and the room isn't precisely rectangular so there's not much wasted space either. But try to fit clothes, garb, SCA crap, sewing stuff, desk, computer, writing stuff, CD's, books, all into this tiny space - I feel like I'm back in college again!

But we got the room cleaned up, had another curry and then sweetie went home and I puttered further. Yesterday was more puttering (my back was really hurting though so some amount of lying about as well). Finished Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere (highly recommended, especially right after reading Keith Lowe's(?) Tunnel Vision). Lost 5.5 pounds at WW, bringing me back down to where I was before the great gain-a-thon of the early fall. Just in time for 9 weeks til Christmas!! Bleah.

Speaking of which, holiday travel is looking like a complete *nightmare*. Sigh.

And various friends are coming to visit soon! Hooray!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!