powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-10-02 - 11:43 a.m.

Things get busy. This coming weekend, Deb is coming to visit (Wahoo!!!!) and we should have a splendid time.

Then the next weekend is Crown Tourney. Watch this space.

I'm up to my armpits in consulting and job-hunting, both of which are good but time consuming.

But this entry really has to be a recommendation for all my aging rock-and-renaissance music fan friends out there to go see Blackmore's Night. Remember Ritchie Blackmore (Rainbow, etc.)? Well, he's teamed up with his lovely young wife Candice Night (she reminds me of a young Stevie Nicks in her gypsy phase, crossed with Loreena McKennett) to form Blackmore's Night. They do a collection of medieval & renaissance music and original music inspired by medieval and renaissance themes, on everything from keyboards and drum kits to shawms and mandolins. Of course, the highlight is Ritchie's fantastic guitar (etc.) work. The music itself is great (they have three CD's out so it's available outside concerts) and the concerts are a *blast*! They encourage folks to come in garb, and one of the opening acts this weekend was a guy who plays various medieval bagpipes and krummhorns and stuff. Some of it is loud, some of it is mellow, and all of it is a lot of fun. Keilyn says Check This Out!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!