powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-07 - 11:51 p.m.

Well, Pennsic is almost here. In something like 30 hours, I'll be hopping in a taxi.

I should have been more productive this week, but I've made some headway. If I just knuckle under, I should finish up all the required machine sewing tomorrow, and that just leaves handwork for the plane and while I'm at Pennsic. I'm not as dedicated as most of my friends, but we'll see what I can accomplish.

I got most of my errands finished today, and have about 3/4 packed. As expected, I'm going to have to check an extra bag (you try to get garb and clothes for 10 days, armour, a significant chunk of the kingdom regalia and other sundries including whisky into two bags, each weighing less than 32 kilos!) but they don't charge you as much 'cause it's "Sports Equipment".

I have to figure out what to do with my helm - it may have to go in another bag or in carryon (with the whisky!) as I think it pushes my armour bag over the weight limit, and that's a badness. I need to collect up some small last-minute items that are scattered about my room (whisky-tasting guide, mug, coronet, swimsuit, fighting card, etc.) but I'm a fair way towards being done and that's a comfort.

Meanwhile, things here are calmer than they were. Kristen's parents decided to get a hotel so we're no longer packed in like sardines, and they spent all of Monday in Paris (and I was away for the weekend at a remarkably entertaining demo) so I can't complain. Plus Kristen's dad is going to hook me up with venison at Pennsic!

This is probably it until after Pennsic, so y'all who are going (and aren't already there) take good care, and I'll see you there, we'll miss those of you who aren't going, and I'll catch up with you all on the flipside. Cheers!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!