powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-30 - 10:52 p.m.

Ah, pre-Pennsic Chaos, transatlantic style!

Camp planning is interesting.

Thanks to the brilliant method of assigning royal camps and the brainless method of not telling everyone all the rules in advance (about the royal camps) my theoretically-spacious royal camp now has about 45 people in it. It was rated for about 37 assuming that we didn't want any more "royal" space than normal. What a nightmare. I've got four people I don't know who are camping with us (and I don't know about their tents, when they're arriving, etc.) I've got people who moved in from other camps. I've got people who may or may not have pre-registered. I've got people coming in from three continents, and we're hoping we have enough 1) tents 2) beds 3) airport shuttles and 4) space. Sheesh. Plus some significant number of them don't have English as a first language (we're learning Swedish as our "secret battle language"). And a large-ish number have never been to Pennsic or anything close to Pennsic in size and scope (Drachenwald's biggest event has 300 people....) Trying to warn some of them seems pointless.

On top of this all, at least one of my lovely friends who is coming over is gorgeous, has great eyes and a great accent (and other talents). I have a feeling we'll be beating them off her with a stick....

In other news, I spent much of the weekend sewing (like everyone else). I got all my chemises mended, two tunics made for Ormslick (who was preparing to go to Pennsic for ten days with two shirts), pants for me partly-made, a tunic for me assembled, pants for Ormslick (I'll explain that later) cut out (see above, only one pair of pants!!!), and helped with a hood for my apprentice, an Italian for Melisende, and various other things for both ladies. Had a nice time, although I'm still jet-lagged from the Board meeting.

Speaking of which, I should crash. See you all in a week or so!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!