powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-28 - 9:04 a.m.

Friends, Romans, Countrymen!

Whoops, wrong speech. I'm a decent extemporaneous speaker but not so so terrific at memorizing lines and I have something like three different speeches to give this weekend at Coronation. Argh.

It's been a weird week and I'm not feeling 100% prepared for this whole weekend, which is rough as I'm supposed to be the solid, dependable, prepared one. Sigh.

Last night the King came over to drop the box of regalia and stuff, and what I assumed was a fly-by turned out to be four hours of pretty nice conversation, dinner, beer, etc. Those of you who have been following our saga to date may recall that the King & I have had our issues, but this somehow managed to clear the air quite well and I'm feeling utterly charitable towards him. Miracles happen.

Unfortunately, a side effect of this delightful evening was that at 11-something last night, I'd only just started packing, needed to call a couple of people and *really* needed to get to sleep (after the conference call Monday night and a really late night after fighting practice Tuesday). So, I'm less organized than I'd like to be, although I came into work early so I can leave early....

The current plan is for everyone to meet at my place circa 5 - 6, and we pile in the van and head off to Dover, from whence we take the ferry to Calais then drive to Brussels. This puts us in Brussels fairly late, but what's new about that?

There's supposed to be a pas d'armes Friday, and then a Pelican vigil Friday night, the Coronation and Champions Tournies Saturday and Sunday we all go home....

Meanwhile, I'm still missing a couple of actors for the Coronation script, and a couple of props, and ....

Sigh.

Some notes to various peeps:

Q-man, I had some thoughts on your thoughts on Christian's thoughts on OSA, but I'm not sure I'm coherent enough right now to spew them forth. But it's an interesting discussion to watch.

Jake, both the book and the movie of Bridget Jones' Diary are good, but you have to kinda pretend 1) that they're different stories and 2) that someone hasn't been spying on our lives. Well, at least *my* life. Sheesh. I never thought my life story could be so humiliatingly funny (or that I'd ever be played by Renee Zellweger!) If Lord of the Rings doesn't do it for you, I'm sorry - the beginning is a bit slow but it *does* speed up. (I just re-read it for the umpteenth time, inspired by the second movie trailer...)

Gen, congrats to your parents! Way to go!

Wen, I hope Carol's ankle is healing.

Genie, sorry to hear about Daddy Byron! He sounds incredibly cool.

Well, off to pretend to work while panicking about things I forgot to pack (almost forgot passport, for instance!)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!