powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-12 - 12:15 p.m.

As much as I hate to disagree with the Angel of Death (although it was a nice post), I have to admit to agreeing with Kimmie a whole lot more.

Love can be a lot of fun, but I'm dubious about it as a long-term prospect. I think that once you get past the hormones and the fantasy, if there's not something else - friendship, companionship, an agreement to work and live together, then you're screwed. Counting on love to make it all work is like counting on it not to rain on your laundry....

I think too often we (as a culture) hope that love will see us through, and from my (somewhat more extensive, although hardly complete) experience, it just ain't so.

If I sound a bit jaded or like a pessimist, you're right, I am. I, like you (Kim), have very few good examples of working marriages, and lots and lots of exemplars of ones that failed (for whatever reason). Maybe we all give up too soon. Maybe we give up not soon enough. But I think the fairytale romance has significantly and negatively impacted our ability to form stable, long-term relationships.

As with everything, your mileage may vary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!