powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-08 - 11:44 a.m.

I'd been thinking of taking up BdB's Music List but hadn't been sufficiently motivated yet. So here it is:

Great Big Sea - Turn, Rant & Roar, Great Big Sea and Road Rage: Great pop-folk-traditional-upbeat singing, although sometimes too it makes me cry. Four great guys from Newfoundland, singing everything from MariMac to REM, Oysterband to originals. Great driving tunes.

Jethro Tull - Living In The Past: not my favorite Tull album, but it was on sale at the Virgin Megastore at Piccadilly a couple of weeks ago.

Bangles - Greatest Hits: It really is all their best songs, and very upbeat and perky.

CSNY - Deja Vu: Ah, the old stuff. There's a guy in my office who has never heard Almost Cut My Hair. Missing a couple of my favorites but a good album nonetheless.

Rush - Hemispheres: Okay, I'm showing my age. I *love* The Trees, and most of the other songs on here, and I discovered rock music just as Rush was cresting, making some of their best.

Culture Club - The Very Best of: So I like pop dance tunes from when I was at University too. This is a great collection and was part of the sale at Virgin....

BNL - Stunt, Gordon, Maroon: What can I say that hasn't been said already? The only problem is I tend to sing along....

AC/DC - Dirty Deeds: A great album and a long time favorite, for the title cut and Big Balls if nothing else. Everyone should bang their head occasionally.

Tal Bachman - Tal Bachman: Yes, *that* Bachman. I bought it for She's So High, but it turns out to be a respectable debut CD.

The Corrs - Forgiven, Not Forgotten: Great music from before they became popular.

George Martin - In My Life: Very weird. Another of the cheap CD's, and one I'd wanted for a while, if only to have Robin Williams & Bobby McFerrin singing Come Together, and Jim Carrey doing I Am The Walrus. Some of it is really good, some of it dreadful.

U2 - Rattle and Hum: I'm not a devotee but I do like this album for some of the songs on it.

Paula Cole - This Fire: A gift from the crew back home (Matt & Susan, I think), because I couldn't get Where Have All The Cowboys Gone? out of my head....

various - Til We Outnumber Them: Billy Bragg, Ani, Indigo Girls and Bruce (among others) cover the music of Woody Guthrie. My token folk album.

Thirty Odd Foot of Grunts - Bastard Life or Clarity: First real "big" album by a bunch of crazed Aussies with a very talented (and gorgeous, and famous) lead singer.

The rest of the stuff is at home (including my Kate Bush collection, Laura!)

But it's interesting that this week has been about poetry and singing, and how that makes us feel. I've actually had the guitar out this week, and been working on a poem for an upcoming SCA event....

And missing my peeps in the states! I went for sushi last night and to the opera, and was thinking of all of you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!