powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-04 - 4:40 p.m.

Oof. Well, I had a pretty entertaining if unproductive weekend. After a week of miserable allergies, this was a good thing!

Friday night I went to see Runrig (www.runrig.co.uk) and Great Big Sea (www.greatbigsea.com) in concert at the Shepherd's Bush Empire. This was my first concert of this sort here in London, and I was mostly pleasantly surprised. They started on time-ish, we had decent seats, the beer was acceptable and Runrig, whom I'd never heard before, turned out to be pretty good. I even had good company in the person of Steve, one of the not-quite-local SCA guys (who looks like a big scary biker, and is, in fact....)

Saturday was supposed to be armour repairs, then a trip to Wales. After much dawdling we made it to Wales by about 7pm, in time for a BBQ birthday party for Anwyn. Much fun, dancing and singing to "old" music (from college) and then later lounging in the hot tub at Dayle & Ken's.

Sunday I got into armour for the first time in *months*. Had some strapping and hanging issues with my leg armour, but managed to get it all working (eventually - thanks Steve!!) and got in a few fights. I'm sore today, but had a blast. I need to make new body armour though!

The ride home was entertaining in one of those shared-hardship sort of ways. Val, Fiona & I were taking the train from Newport to London (2.5 hours, give or take) but there'd been a big rugby match in Cardiff (Caerdydd) so the train was *packed* with drunk rugby fans. We had to stand the entire way back to London, in the aisle with people trying to squeeze past us to the loo and the bar. There were people sleeping in the aisles, wearing flags, etc. It was almost entertaining, as we had much fun making rude remarks about the passersby (including the woman who groped Val!) although my feet are killing me now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!